Abrahim Simmonds at the Launch of JAYECAN’s GBV summit at the Normal Manley Law School in 2016

Abrahim Simmonds is prolific youth leader from the parish of St. Mary. He is the founding director of JAYECAN. He attained a Bachelor of Science in Social Work from the University of the West Indies in 2016 and a Master of Science in Health Informatics at Swansea University in the United Kingdom.

Adept at research and implementation science, Simmonds is currently the Program Officer for the LINKAGES Project in Jamaica; The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and Family Health International (FHI360), the largest global project dedicated to key populations living with and affected by HIV. This project accelerates the ability of governments, organizations and private-sector providers working with key populations at risk of HIV, to plan and implement services that reduce HIV transmission among key populations and their sexual partners and extend the lives of those already living with HIV.

Abrahim is also the Caribbean representative on the Global Alliance and Partnerships for Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL) Youth Committee. This UNESCO-facilitated platform brings together the voices and skills of young journalists across 20 partnering countries. Simmonds was the chief organizer of the UNESCO-MILID Youth Agenda Forum held at the University of the West Indies in 2017. This forum held in partnership with the Caribbean Institute of Media and Communications (CARIMAC), saw the participation of over 300 young persons from across the world.

Simmonds is the chairperson of the National Coordinating Committee (NCC) of the Governor General’s I Believe Initiative and serves as an I Believe Ambassador.  

In 2016, Abrahim Simmonds was listed Teen Vybez Magazines ’20 under 25’ Jamaicans and was later granted the Queen’s Young Leader Award by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Prior to these major awards, he was the recipient of the Kiwanis Club of Kingston Youth Leader Award and a nominee of the Prime Minister’s Youth Awards for Excellence.